Bangkok: A first impression. - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Loeka Bijnen - WaarBenJij.nu Bangkok: A first impression. - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Loeka Bijnen - WaarBenJij.nu

Bangkok: A first impression.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loeka

16 Juli 2013 | Thailand, Bangkok

Even though I’ve only been here for, let’s say, three hours, this is definitely worth a new blog post. For the first time in my life I really feel like I am very very far away from Europe. And before you start to wonder how that’s possible since I spent a year in Australia which is pretty much the other side of the world: The differences are mostly chewable air, stickiness and humidity, makeshift street stalls everywhere, complete makeshift markets everywhere with stacks of plastic chairs and parasols, a taxi driver that tried to tell me his life story with only a few English words and lots of Thai, thousands of electricity cables weirdly tied to a little piece of building, honking cars, unreadable road signs, Samranrach road that apparently is the exact same thing as Samran Rat Phra which caused a lot of confusion for my taxi driver, tons and tons of mopeds and bikes (of course without any helmets, duh), temples, palaces, golden buddas everywhere, the moments on my way to the hostel where a truck, me and another car shared the same bit of two lanes for about 50 meters, 30ct bottles of water, not knowing how the money works (since every note has something on it that looks like 600 or 900 or something which obviously isn't the amount that note is worth). The highway was packed with huge billboards about the strangest subjects, and surprisingly with a lot of football players on them. The moment I saw my first tuktuk my day was totally made.

But, the very best, is the WiFi.

It’s so fast, I can actually stream two Youtube videos at the same time.
Wow.

So now I’m off to try my first awesome street food, look at some temples and possibly die of the heat and humidity. I might just get a massage or something. Yeah. Because hell I can, that’s why.
Planning for tomorrow: Bike tour through the old city, lots and lots of food, lots and lots of temples. And I’m gonna ride a tuktuk goddamnit, whether I have to or not.

Awesome photos coming soon if my camera wants to work. Otherwise, less awesome photos with a crappy camera. Oh well, it’s something. : D

  • 16 Juli 2013 - 09:29

    Louise:

    Loeka! So weird that you're there now... I can totally picture where you are now with that detailed description. Almost no photo's needed. Almost; because I want proof. Proof of you with a tuktuk, then I really believe you're there ;)

  • 16 Juli 2013 - 19:02

    Angelique:

    We zijn weer érg benieuwd naar je nieuwe verhalen (we are very curious to hear your new story's) :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loeka

Actief sinds 16 April 2012
Verslag gelezen: 323
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9822

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Juli 2012 - 06 Augustus 2013

Stage en afstuderen in Melbourne

Landen bezocht: