And last, but not least... - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Loeka Bijnen - WaarBenJij.nu And last, but not least... - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Loeka Bijnen - WaarBenJij.nu

And last, but not least...

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loeka

10 Juli 2013 | Australië, Melbourne

And today, in English! Because sometimes I feel much more comfortable using English that I feel using Dutch. It kind of grows on you after a year, I reckon.

Today was the day that it hit me that I am leaving in less than a week time. For the first time. Is ‘finally’ the right word to use in this context? I’m not sure. It feels like I’m leaving home, but I’m kind of glad that I finally got the realisation (shut up, spell check, that word is not with a Z down under) that it’s actually happening. My last week is packed with official goodbye parties, dinner parties and things I’m going to miss the most (salsa dancing, pub quizzing, you know). I’m trying to spend all of my time with the people I love. It almost sounds like I only have a week left to live. I've got very mixed feeling about it though, doing the things I love with people I love for maybe the very last time. Although I'm sure I will be back here at some point for some time.

Today was also the day that I had to say goodbye to a few friends. The first group of friends that I might never see again that I had to hug goodbye. Luckily we had lots of wine so I did not cry as much as I expected, but it was very, very tough. The tram trip back home was pretty strange, I can tell you.

On another note, I can share some very happy news with y’all: My thesis is all done, it’s passed the first inspection ánd there’s a good change it might get published, oh my!

Also, something that really keeps me going during my last few days is that I will arrive in Thailand in a week’s time. I’ll be spending two weeks in Thailand as a bit of a summer holiday away before heading back to the hectic life of graduation and job hunting. Trust me, I need it and I’m extremely exited over it.

So, just to keep things short, a rough overview of my planning: I am arriving on the 16th around 10 in the morning. Three days of Bangkok, including arrival day, with one morning with a cycling tour around the city and quite possible a lot of massages, the best street food, temples, heat and stickiness from the humidity. After that I’m off to Ayutthaya, one of the ancient capitals with lots of temple ruins and such. Then, a night train to Chiang Mai for Thai cooking classes and a mahout training course (where I'll practically get my own elephant to take care of for 2,5 days) and an afternoon of visiting hill tribes, white water rafting and something else that I forgot about. After 5 days in Chiang Mai it’s off to the south for a few days of chilling and doing absolutely nothing on the beach, maybe do some scuba diving, maybe some snorkelling, those things. And then it’s back to, hopefully, a by then nice and warm summer-y Holland.

I’m arriving in Dutchland on the 31st of july, at 9 in the evening.
Now, off to another dinner party. If I ever feel like writing in the next five days I have left in Melbourne, I will upload something else. Otherwise this will possibly be the very last thing you’ll hear from me while I’m Melbourne-based.

Mixed feelings, man. Mixed feelings.

Bye for now, Melbs.

  • 10 Juli 2013 - 10:51

    Yoka:

    Hi Loeka
    Het gaat echt weer gebeuren, je komt terug......was heel leuk om je te volgen via je blog.
    Wat zal het afscheid daar dubbel voor je zijn, aan de ene kant fijn om weer al je mensen in Nederland te zien, aan de andere kant ga je in Australie heeeeel veeel mensen missen en misschien wel voor altijd. Gelukkig is er nu internet en kun je veel contacten via skype en zo onderhouden, maar toch........
    Ik weet nog dat ik na 1,5 jaar in Amerika zelfs in het Engels dacht en niet meer op sommige Nederlandse woorden kon komen, maar dat trekt weer bij hoor...haha.
    Ik wens je eerst een hele fijne vakantie in Thailand en daarna een goeie en veilige vlucht terug naar Holland.
    Groetjes Yoka

  • 10 Juli 2013 - 14:44

    Ma:

    We leven met je mee meis. Dat dubbele gevoel geeft alleen maar aan dat je het overal goed naar je zin hebt en al die ervaringen neemt niemand je meer af, ohzo!
    We kijken er erg naar uit dat je weer veilig terug komt op je oude nest :) . En ook dan weer; op naar een heleboel andere nieuwe ervaringen............
    Veilige terugkomst van ons allemaal!

  • 10 Juli 2013 - 21:04

    Tim Van Hugte:

    Lieve Loeka,

    Zoals jij het beschrijft, snap ik dat het best lastig is om afscheid te nemen.
    Je hebt daar een fantastische tijd, met nieuwe vrienden en zoveel keus in wat je
    kunt doen en ervaren. Deze vrijheid zit niet perse in Australie maar in jouw manier van denken. En dat je deze nu extreem in praktijk hebt kunnen brengen, wil nog niet zeggen
    dat je die niet overal en altijd kunt benutten om je leven leuk, nieuw en interessant te maken!

    Veel liefs uit het mondaine Uden,
    Tim en de rest

    Ps; waarom doe je in Godsnaam niet ook nog een cursus blind slangenbezweren in Thailand. Een aanrader die er ook nog wel bijkan ;-)

  • 10 Juli 2013 - 21:04

    Tim Van Hugte:

    Lieve Loeka,

    Zoals jij het beschrijft, snap ik dat het best lastig is om afscheid te nemen.
    Je hebt daar een fantastische tijd, met nieuwe vrienden en zoveel keus in wat je
    kunt doen en ervaren. Deze vrijheid zit niet perse in Australie maar in jouw manier van denken. En dat je deze nu extreem in praktijk hebt kunnen brengen, wil nog niet zeggen
    dat je die niet overal en altijd kunt benutten om je leven leuk, nieuw en interessant te maken!

    Veel liefs uit het mondaine Uden,
    Tim en de rest

    Ps; waarom doe je in Godsnaam niet ook nog een cursus blind slangenbezweren in Thailand. Een aanrader die er ook nog wel bijkan ;-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loeka

Actief sinds 16 April 2012
Verslag gelezen: 501
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9819

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Juli 2012 - 06 Augustus 2013

Stage en afstuderen in Melbourne

Landen bezocht: